Our History

The Mt Lawley Tennis Club was formed in 1922 following permission being granted by the Perth Roads Board to build five courts in Queens Crescent Mt Lawley next to the bowling green.

Subscriptions were £2/2/0 for men and £1/10/0 for ladies and the groundsman was paid £5 per week. A wooden pavilion was erected by the Road Board and served a membership of 50 men and 50 ladies.

In 1926 another 6 courts were built (5 doubles and one singles) and membership was increased to 150. The club held the 1929 Centenary Suburban Tournament which formed part of the official State Centenary Celebrations.

In December 1936 a new pavilion was opened by John Orr Esq Chairman of the Perth Road Board, the architects were Powell, Cameron & Chisholm and the builders were Henley Builders. The building still stands and forms part of the Mt Lawley Bowling Club clubrooms.

A Mr J Scadden, was one of the early Presidents, he later became the Premier of the State. Another prominent member was Supreme Court Judge James Walker; at one time he was the President of the WA Lawn Tennis Association which is now Tennis West. In 1904 he had the inaugural honour of being the first Rhodes Scholar; he was also a life member of this club.

Following some good work by the then President, Norm Wasley the club moved to it present location, then know as Mt Ingle, and new clubrooms costing £15,000 were built on the corner of Central Ave and Hamer parade and opened in 1958. Norm Wasley was WA’s Mr Tennis for many years, was a long term President of Tennis West and a life member of that organisation and this club.

At the time of the move club membership was 210, the change proved very positive as in February 1962 the membership reached 500.

The club continued to function well for the rest of the 60’s and the 70’s conducting many of the major state tournaments and assisted in the development of a number of the states leading players at the time including Dean Williams and Alan Gooch.

The next major changes occurred in the 80’s when 4 grass courts were converted to synthetic grass and yes believe or not new clubrooms were built. The clubrooms built in 1958 for a number of reasons were deemed to be inadequate and those used today were officially opened in October 1985. Further extensions and changes were made in the mid 90’s.

In 2005 following a review by the club and the City of Stirling it was decided that the clubrooms built in 1958 would be demolished and the area turned into a park. This work was completed in December 2006.

We have had 5 life members of Tennis West in Justice James Walker (1955), Brian Morrell (1967), Norm Wasley (1971), Helen Waters (1983) all are deceased. Our most recent life member of Tennis West is Wayne Firns (2019). Along with Wayne Firns, Justice James Walker and Norm Wasley they have all served as past Presidents of Tennis West.

A number of prominent WA tennis identities including Alan Hicks, Max Bonner, Bruce and Margaret Robinson, Alan Gooch and Dean Williams have at one time or other been club members.

Over recent years the club has hosted or co-hosted events such as: World Seniors Championships, Australian Seniors Championships, Country Week, State Closed Championships and more recently the WA State Grass Court Championships held in December each year.

In 2006 our club was the Tennis West Club of the Year, a great acknowledgement of the work put in by the hardworking directors with the support of the members.

In 2012 our club went through a major upgrade of its court facilities. With replacing 4 of its synthetic courts and 6 of its grass courts into 10 new acrylic hardcourts with high quality lighting, which is to competition standard. Also providing better access to the courts with laneways and viewing areas. A new kids playground was also erected. The upgrade to our hardcourts has meant our club is able to offer more night tennis and court hire for its members and visitors. As well has hosted WA state tournaments and championship events for our juniors and seniors.

In recent years our members and coaches have proudly been recognised for their contributions to tennis in Western Australia. With life member Les Peirce awarded the prestigious WA Tennis Volunteer of the Year in 2014. Club member Moira Durkin in 2014 won the Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior award for WA and was also a finalist in the national awards that year. And club coach Rhys McDougall in 2017 award the WA Tennis Coach of the Year.

In 2017 our club tasted success in the City of Stirling Tournament event, a high-grade inter club competition is played against other Stirling Council clubs in the area. Mt Lawley winning the tournament for the first time in over 45 years.

Our club continues to produce top talent with our junior programs. Recently our junior members have represented our state in the Pizzey and Bruce Cup. And our senior elite players playing for our club in the mens WA State League and the Australian Tennis League (ATL).